Building Community. Sparking Creativity. Inspiring Readers.

Buy. Build. Register. Map. Donate. The Little Free Library Movement is an ingenious community building tool that promotes readership and brings us back to the neighborhoods and the front yards. I’ve been gun shy about owning a home again, but for this project, I wish I held a deed so I could have one.

I’m currently reading a book called The Fainting Room by Sarah Pemberton Strong. Sarah is a resident of New Haven, CT where, coincidentally, I found her book in the Little Free Library built and run by my in-laws. My father in-law designed and made the library and they’ve registered it as you do to officially use the LFL’s trademarked name. On Thanksgiving I stopped by the library and found my current read. The story line is a bit racy but its intriguing, and when I needed a distraction at the hospital a week ago (Hubby had knee surgery), the book kept me occupied.

I admit I was an avid reader from about 8 years old until a few years after college. Somewhere after that, my interest fell off. I was more interested in dating, working, and having adventures of my own with kayaking and playing volleyball. I tried the Kindle (a discussion of paperback books vs LED lit ones is for another day) but never fell in love with the experience. I ended up selling mine cheaply when I was out of work and needed grocery money.

The feeling you get when you pick up a book is like nothing else. Used books built my own personal library but new books were OK, too. I prefer them a bit dogeared and creased myself. Its like the book has lived a life elsewhere and is bringing that experience with it when we now settle down into the couch or easy chair and embark together. We were on the needy side growing up, but Mom fostered my love of reading and knew tag sales and fairs to be a great place for me to find a few good reads for under a buck. I’m sure that as a result of these picks, I had one of the most unique and varied libraries ever. I will admit though that the classics of Nancy Drew and Shakespeare were ones I sought out and loved most.

The Little Free Library Movement makes a way for communities to once again intermingle, and for readers lost or looking for a new experience, to find their next adventure. I love this idea and that my in-laws are active members of the LFL Community. Not only is the library there 24/7/365 but owners have been known to have book readings, special events and parties to open their libraries to the public. Its an experience, not just a box on the lawn with books inside. Its magical as no two libraries are the same. How fantastic!

For more information, here are a couple additional links about the LFL project and its critics. Yes, there are some.

LFL Images and Ideas

LFL Critics Exposed

