To me, the debate between self publishing vs traditional publishing houses is akin to debating the Kindle vs the written word in paperback. This post by A. M Bradley created a discussion that I’d like to bring to The Writer’s Block community.

What are your thoughts on the various publishing options?

Which do you prefer and why?

What venue provides you with the most street cred as an accomplished and established author?

(Post shared with permission from the author)

A.M.Bradley

The longer I’m online and involved in the writing community, the more hate and “wars (as I call it)” I see.
giphy (71).gif
I’m sure by now you’ve heard or read the article on Huffington Post. (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/laurie-gough/selfpublishing-an-insult-_b_13606682.html) It’s an article written by a published writer who titled it, “Self-publishing: An Insult to the Written Word.
First, I want to make it clear I’m not bashing this woman, at all. She’s gotten enough hate for what she said, but that brings me back to an older post I wrote. The post is about bullying. If you are new to my blog, you can read it here: When Writers Bully Each Other.

Now, yes, bullying. When I first started writing online, I thought bullying only existed in a few writing communities – mostly the ones with lots of teenagers – but I’m starting to see that’s not the case.

In the…

View original post 328 more words

